Schools & Universities

Higher Education

There are almost 47,000 students pursuing higher education in the Springfield region each year.  From four-year universities to community and technical colleges, students flock to this area to continue their studies because of the strong emphasis on quality education available.

Springfield is home to the second-largest university system in the state, Missouri State University, whose business college is the largest in the four-state area.

The third largest community college in the state of Missouri, Ozarks Technical Community College, is a major partner in workforce training for the region with campuses in Springfield, Hollister and off Highway 14 between Nixa and Ozark.

Drury University is a private institution recognized by US News and World Report and Time magazine for it’s quality education, while Evangel University, Springfield’s private Christian college offers undergraduate liberal arts programs and Biblical studies.

Other institutions and higher education programs in the Springfield Region include:

Assemblies of God Theological Seminary Cox College
Baptist Bible College Mercy College of Nursing and Health Sciences
Bryan University Midwest Technical Institute
Crowder College Southwest Baptist University
College of the Ozarks


Springfield is a top center for higher education in Missouri, offering a wealth of liberal arts, business, technical and medical programming. Curriculum in pre-engineering, pre-medical, pre-law, architecture and religion are also offered. Noncredit, continuing education courses are also available, as well as customized training programs.

View an Interactive Map of Colleges & Universities

Primary & Secondary Education

The Springfield Region is home to more than 50 school districts, including Springfield Public Schools, the largest fully accredited district in Missouri.


From kindergarten through high school, the region’s award-winning educational systems work to meet the needs of its student through efficient and effective use of resources, student preparation, and teacher support. Springfield alone has invested more than $278 million since 2000 to improve its facilities with renovation of all five high schools, construction of three new schools, and expansion or remodeling of other schools. Public school teachers have an average of 12 years of experience and 63% have pursued advanced degrees to stay on the forefront of education. The region’s school systems are constantly developing innovative new programs to address the needs of a diverse student population.

To learn more about our Springfield area public school districts, visit these links:



Springfield Public School Districts

Barry County Public School Districts

Christian County Public School Districts

Dade County Public School Districts

Dallas County Public School Districts

Greene County Public School Districts

Lawrence County Public School Districts

Polk County School Districts

Stone County Public School Districts

Taney County Public School Districts

Webster County School Districts

Recognition and Honors

  • In Springfield, all five high schools are Missouri A+ schools and the district produces an average ACT score that ranks above both state and national averages.
  • Three schools in the region (Bolivar High School, Nixa High School, and Spokane High School) were awarded the 2013 National Blue Ribbon for academic achievement by the U.S. Department of Education.
  • Springfield’s Central High School received the gold (2012) and silver (2013) medals in U.S. News & World Report’s Best High Schools rankings.

Learn more information on school districts in the Springfield Region by selecting a county below and clicking the links to each county’s public school districts.